1. I've started a massive SPAM purge, any accounts that have spammed are being removed, also for a short period new user signups are disallowed until the SPAM cleaning is finished.

How much memory do you really need?

Discussion in 'Computer & IT Forum' started by ~kev~, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. ~kev~

    ~kev~ Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Texas
    From time to time I see people bragging that they have 6 gigs of memory, or even 8 gigs. But out of that 6 or 8 gigs, how much do you "really" use?

    My home computer is a gaming machine - I'am running 32-bit windows xp, and 3 gigs of memory. Of that 3 gigs, I probably have 1.5 gigs free at all times. Even when I'am playing left 4 dead 2,,,,, or any other game. I can have task manager running in the background, alt-tab out of the game and look at memory and CPU usage. Out of 4 cores, all 4 only only being used about 50% and I still have about 1.5 - 1.8 gigs free memory. There are times when I might get down to 1.2 gigs free, but that is rare.

    Even when I'am editing a video for youtube, I still have 1.5 - 2 gigs free memory.

    How much memory does your system have, what do you use it for, and how much free memory do you have under a load?
    Loading...
  2. donm1

    donm1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have 4gigs, and only use mine for business type stuff. No games. Under a load, I have about half available. Sometimes less, if I really have a bunch of stuff running.
  3. Old Admin

    Old Admin Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,850
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Im the same , 4GB Sony Laptop with a high end graphics card , because its totally for business however i will have photoshop , dreamweaver , word, outlook, Firefox with around 8 tabs open , MSN , filezilla and a couple of Stats tracking programs open all at once nearly all day. It manages just fine but i do find that sometimes it does need that extra 2 or 4GB just to have that extra kick , especially when photoshop has upto 10 images open it does start to struggle a little. Time for an upgrade next month anyway.
  4. happy4u

    happy4u Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    its depends on the use of user
  5. jayrudalf

    jayrudalf New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    For me I need at least 180 GB hard disk.
  6. che09

    che09 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It really depends,as for me 4GB will do. Other would like to have a huge memory,because of their kind of work or hobbies,such as those downloading games or stuff.
  7. balivillas

    balivillas Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    True enough, most standard PCs don't really need a high RAM. Mine has 2 Gig at 3.1 Ghz Processor and still can maximized efficiently what my PC could give.
    Although if you use higher Video Card and Graphic supports, you need at least 3 to 4 gig RAM to make it all fully working for your HIGH def softwares and games.
  8. rvitgroup

    rvitgroup New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is depands on your requirements if you are using heavy software like auto cad, photoshop or some cad software's then for consistent performance you should increase your RAM. Window XP can be run properly in 32MB RAM . But this is recommended that you PC have large RAM .
  9. nullifygirls

    nullifygirls Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I don't determine any number because it is depend system hard diver and your using.
  10. eUKhost

    eUKhost Official Company Representative

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Well, usually 8 GB, 12 GB and 16 GB RAM are used in the web servers. But, however most of the times such huge RAM are required in a home computer system as well, if it is going to be used just for gaming purpose.
  11. gogreen

    gogreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    4GB is the minimum requirement RAM in Home pc's :)
  12. happy4u

    happy4u Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i need only 40 gb hard disk becouse i am not a big downloader
  13. Fleigermail

    Fleigermail New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It really does depend on what you're doing with your computer. If you're just doing some light MS Office stuff, plus email and web browsing, you can get by fairly easily with 2 GB. If you do more processor intensive things like serious gaming, photo or video editing, music production, etc., you'll need more. But be aware that your operating system is theoretically limited to using 4 GB if it's 32-bit. More recent systems (both for Windows 7 and Mac OSX) are capable of running in 64-bit mode. This allows more memory to be used and you can load much more RAM in your machine.
  14. neo127

    neo127 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    For me, it is sufficient 4gigs as I mostly use "my" PC for playing high end games. Other than games I use it for surfing in which I usually use 8-10 tabs in a browser. So IMO it is sufficient for me to have 4GB memory.
  15. prime logos

    prime logos New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not more than 2 gigs for me...........
  16. alodia

    alodia Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Female
    depending on what's your purpose in buying a memory.. is it for gaming or for work or for general purpose
  17. Mark Wang

    Mark Wang Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    If you can offer, the bigger RAM the better performance it will have
  18. devileye

    devileye Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    it is really depends on the type of works that a person do.collecting movie is my hobby.for that purposes i need much memory.sill i have 500 GB HDD and 3GB RAM.
  19. martincrow

    martincrow Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have a dual core CPU and it have only 80 GB harddisk, but there is not any problem, it is enough for my work. and don't thing i need to increase my system's memory.
  20. raghunand

    raghunand Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I too having the 4 gigs for memory in my PC. It is more than enough for me.

Share This Page