1. I've started a massive SPAM purge, any accounts that have spammed are being removed, also for a short period new user signups are disallowed until the SPAM cleaning is finished.

Great way to sync pc's

Discussion in 'Computer & IT Forum' started by midlandi, May 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. midlandi

    midlandi Can you smell that?

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Uk
    I figured out a great way to sync pc's or what ever using briefcase.... In all my years I never knew what it was for....

    click new and instead of making a new folder make a briefcase... you can drag it through your network to another pc or what ever and then that folder can be synced on different pc's...



    Ok you are all gonna come back at me now and say...yeah we knew that midi:):
    Loading...
  2. jani

    jani Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,704
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Me too didn't know that.

    This briefcase will be synchronized within two PCs through a NETWORK, but what if I want to keep my home computer and office computer synchronized? Do you know some good way for it?
  3. gkd

    gkd Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Jani

    Do you currently store your files on one pc and then access these files from your 2nd computer?
  4. jani

    jani Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,704
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, But that is what I want to do.

    I want to sync my office pc and home pc.
  5. gkd

    gkd Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Jani

    Can you give me a quick setup of your network.

    1) Do use use a modem to connect to the internet or a router?
    2) When you say office PC, do you have a office within the house?
    3) Do you use firewall software on both machines?
  6. jani

    jani Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,704
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No No GKD, You got me wrong I think

    My office is very far from my home, I have heard something about beinsync.com but didn't use it to sync my home and office PC. I want to know something like that but it should be very easy.

    I connect to internet via DSL on our network. I have not installed any firewall software.

    Hope you understand me now.
  7. gkd

    gkd Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ahhh, I understand now.

    beinsync.com is a great one to go for, but it depends on how much data you have as beinsync offer 1GB.

    If you would like to be able to work on your office work whilst at home you would be best requesting a laptop from your employer and request that they allow a remote connection. You can then logon to the office network whilst at home.
    1 person likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page